My Blog

my little room studio setup

I have been a music fanatic since I was very young. But it wasn't until I went to college that I started teaching myself music. I have been buying music gear to teach myself music making. So here's a list of things that I use or used to use.

1) computer

I don't know much about computers but I really regret buying a MacBook 12-inch instead of a MacBook Pro.

2) digital audio workstation

I use Apple products simply because I want to use Logic Pro and GarageBand. I haven't used other DAWs so far, but lately I've been thinking about trying Studio One on my HP laptop.

3) audio interface

The PreSonus one was the first audio interface that I had ever had. I sold it before college because I didn't know how to use it at that time.

4) midi keyboard

I really regret buying KOMPLETE KONTROL S61 because I could've used the same money to buy an Arturia KeyLab 88, which is prettier and has more keys. (Life's full of regrets, I know.)

5) microphone

I sold my AT2035 to save money for Shure SM7B. Shure SM7B is so well-regarded—every single male singer on your following list has used it. However, it might not be among the best microphones for female vocals because it doesn't have a good response to high frequency. Sometimes I regret buying it, but since it's a dynamic mic, it can endure longer than condenser mics do, which is a good thing for me because my dad never treats my possessions decently when I'm not home.

6) monitor headphone/speaker

I haven't got myself any monitor speaker because I'm too lazy to do acoustic planning for my room (and also because I don't want to spend that money).

7) other things

Preamps are often expensive but I have a stupid Shure SM7B so I bought that little dynamite for it.

I haven't figured out how to use that effects pedal properly. I bought it simply because I saw Ariana Grande had it LMAO.


Thanks for reading! If you are learning music making or if you are already a professional music maker, please share whatever you want to say to me by leaving a comment. I'm expecting you here <3

#now